Turning 60

I haven’t blogged for a while. I have been busy with spring work here on the farm. I planted over 500 trees, oats, corn and soybeans. And then there is trying to promote my writing. I started by knowing nothing about marketing. Now I know next to nothing. But that is an improvement and it all takes time.

Enough of my flimsy excuses. I have things to say.

A little over a week ago I had my 60th birthday. While 60 isn’t the milestone it used to be, I had to admit that I am not a kid anymore. So that got me thinking. Like most of us, I seem to be a creature of habit. For many years I was in the habit of getting up each morning and going to work. Then I would go home, watch a little TV and go to bed. Sound familiar?

A couple of years ago I quit going to work. That was OK. I still keep pretty busy. I find I don’t have nearly as much time to go fishing as I had hoped when thinking about retirement.

But, I still have TV. Being a creature of habit I kept watching the same stuff I did when I was working: John Stewart, Steven Colbert, David letterman, Craig Ferguson, and on Sunday I’d watch Face the Nation with Bob Schieffer. Well, all those guys are retiring or just moving on.

I guess I’ll have to change my habits. That is a good thing I guess. At 60 I can see that my life will have an end one day. I’m shooting for another 30 years. I can remember more than 30 years past. It doesn’t seem like such a long time. In fact, it seems like a lot of it was wasted.

So, I have decided that in the next 30 years I will direct my attention to those activities that bring me joy. I will make a conscious effort to forgive any who have harmed me. I will cultivate a sense of gratitude for the many good things I have been given. I will exercise compassion in my dealings with my fellow human beings.

Also, I won’t waste my time clinging to negative thoughts and ideas. Maybe I’ll watch less TV. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

