A Visit From the Pope

Greetings to all my readers. I haven’t posted for a while; sometimes I just get too busy. Well, anyway, one of the things I have been doing is changing my website a bit; so please look around.

Other bits of housekeeping: I am doing a Goodreads giveaway of my award winning book “In Pursuit of Joy”. Here’s the link: https://www.goodreads.com/giveaway/show/155333-in-pursuit-of-joy Work continues on the next instalment in the Redemption series; “Rebecca’s Destiny”. Also, I’m expecting the revised edition of “The Mindful Lifestyle” to be out in a couple of weeks—exact date not set.

This morning I realized that my schedule for the next four days includes three funerals and a wedding. While there was a funny movie with a similar name a while back, I am not expecting there to be much opportunity for farce. In fact in the last two years I have been to a disturbing number of funerals. I suppose it has something to do with my age, and the fact that I have a rather large family. I have been trying to think of something profound to say about the upcoming weekend. All I can think of is that I need a break.

Well, enough about me. I want to talk about the Pope. I’m not catholic nor am I likely to convert. However, I do like Pope Francis—and I’ll tell you why.

I have noticed that many previous popes seemed to be much too concerned about the power of their office and protecting outdated dogma and not concerned enough about changing the world for the better. However, Francis addressed a joint session of Congress this morning and used the “bully pulpit” of his office to tell our legislators to stop this petty partisan bickering and work toward the common good. In my opinion this is the best and proper use of his office.

I also like that he is humble and sociable. I know that people responsible for his safety are not pleased about his tendency to be with “the people”. But, isn’t that what he is supposed to do? Isn’t he role-modeling how to express God’s love in the world? I suspect that his stand on security is that he will be doing the best job as he sees it until God decides he is done, whether he is killed by an assassin or dies of natural causes. And really, isn’t that the attitude he should have? In a larger sense, isn’t that the attitude we all should have?

So, for me, this weird week, with its abundant reminders of mortality and this historic message from this remarkable Pope reinforces my belief that we have reached the time in history when each of us must look inside and examine our lives. Are we doing what the universe wants us to do? Are we honest with others and ourselves about our motives? Are we working toward the common good? I believe that these are the kinds of questions we all MUST answer for ourselves.

 

Leave a Reply

